We will leave for Jordan on July 1st, six days away. I am currently sitting in the fifth class at Bowling Green State University studying Arabic language and culture.

The Arabic language is very difficult to get started in. We are learning to read Arabic first so we have a visual to think of when we hear the language. It will be very interesting to see how much language I have when I return. We are leaving from Detroit airport Thursday, stopping in Dulles, going to Frankfort for a 12 hour stay and then landing in Amman.

Jordan map

We will be studying in Azraq, Shawmari, Jeresh, Aljoun, Pella, Madaba, Mt. Nero, Makawir, the Dead Sea, Karak, Petra, Wadi Rum, Aqaba, and Amman. The pre departure included an entire day at the Perrysburg Mosque and several Jordanian guest lecturers. Jordan required four major immunization shots on top of the shots I have had before.

We are learning how to spell and say Arabic numbers today.

It is my goal to keep a daily journal with pictures so that I can share the experience with others and keep a record for myself.

I will check in next week before we depart.

Dave